Thursday, June 13, 2013

Day 21 - Meditation with Chakras

Welcome to day 21 of our meditation challenge, they say it takes 21 days to formulate a habit, so congratulations to all of you for making it this far.  Those of you who are just joining, enjoy and keep on going.  Today's meditation involves chakras.  Nowadays many people are making workshops on chakras, or classes with very limited knowledge on this powerful concept from Vedic Science and we must be careful when we do this.  This is an area of yoga that one should truly experience within themselves first when considering sharing with others.  The chakras are psychic energy centers that connect to our endocrine system and run along the center line of the body (the sushumna).  These chakras are active at all times, and are influenced by the elements - earth, water, fire, air, and akasha.  With training and practice we can become more aware of our chakras.  When prana flows freely without blockage through these chakras we have balance and kundalini rising.  It is important to understand that everything in this world is comprised of masculine and feminin energy, which creates balance.  Therefore within all of us is masculin and feminin energy.  We all find our balance by gravitating or finding a "connection"  with things, people, sources of enertainment, gurus who balance us out.  This also means if we are out of balance in a certain chakra, we will seek companionship in another person who is stronger in that chakra, this is the "connection" that we all seek.

There are 7 major Chakras, also called the Upper Chakras (starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head).

Each Chakra coincides with a color, a seed (bija) sound, a Yantra (geometrical shape), Lotus Petals (color, number, seed sound), Sense, sense organ, deity, an instrument and musical frequency, a fragrance, element (shape, vayu), ruling planet, behavior, carrier (vahana of seed sound), and influences specific psychich and physical functions related within the region of the body it is associated.

When we do Surya Namaskar we are allowing energy to flow through all the chakras.  When we sit and visualize the color of each chakra while reciting seed sounds for each, we are allowing energy to flow through them.  However, even if we are not consciously sending energy to the chakras, they are active, which is even more of a reason why we should be very conscious of what we watch, say, do, and who we associate with, because these chakras are like record keepers.

A Simple chakra meditation for you to practice is using the seed sounds.  This meditation is one often done by Sri Dharma Mittra who usually does it in a melodious way.  While I hope to make a youtube that describes this method, another option is to say the seed sound, much like we do when we recite the sound OM. 

Sitting up tall bring your awareness to the base of the spine (Root Chakra/Muladhara), from there we will progress through each chakra with the seed sound mantra as written below.

  1. Root/Muladhara - LAM
  2. Sacral/Swadhisthana - VAM
  3. Navel/Manipura - RAM
  4. Heart/Anhata - YAM
  5. Throat/Vishudda - HAM
  6. Third Eye/Ajna - OM
  7. Crown/Sahasrara - SILENCE

No comments:

Post a Comment